I regret to announce the Galerie Donald Browne will close on April 1st, 2016 (CA)

 .
.
.
.
.
 Galerie
.
.
Donald Browne
.
.
.
2006-16
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

I regret to announce the Galerie Donald Browne will close on April 1st, 2016.

I offer heartfelt thanks to everyone who visited and supported the gallery throughout its nearly ten-year history. At the gallery I have shared my boundless passion for the work of contemporary artists. I want thank all the artists who had the opportunity to work with me and for the opportunity to have worked bringing your art to the public. I have been pleased to be affiliated with association des galleries d’art contemporain and its gallery members to develop a marketplace for contemporary art in Canada.

With the economic uncertainty and with more people thinking that art is an investment more than an experience, the business model for this small one-person gallery is no longer feasible.

Since the gallery opened in August of 2006, we have produced 77 shows, participated in numerous art fairs, and brought the work of Canadian artists to the forefront of the art-loving public. The artists’ careers have all flourished through the work of the gallery. The viewing public has enjoyed a pluralism of visions and experiences. I am proud of the avant-garde, risk taking and challenging shows at the gallery. The gallery exhibitions expressed many ideas: art as play, our identities, feminism, colonial hierarchies, angst in today’s society, and the importance of authenticity in a world with so much change and uncertainty. Even more, I am grateful that you have been open to experiencing art that challenged you, and that you remained loyal to the gallery.

My ambitions are to continue working within the artistic community to promote and develop a language of art that speaks beyond the vernacular of Canada and I hope to find a place for Canadian artists in the international spectrum.

If you are in Montreal before April 1, please drop by the gallery.

Time for reflection and drinking whisky. It has been a great run!

.

https://translate.google.com/   Google Traduction

.

.

.

  .

.
Galerie Donald Browne
372 Sainte-Catherine ouest suite 528
Montréal, Québec
Canada
H3B 1A2

.

mm
m
m
Heures d’ouverture
Galerie Donald Browne
Mercredi au samedi de 12 à 17 h
.
.
.